From the pension to a 4* superior Hotel

The Hotel Sonne in Zermatt is headed for over three generations by the family Kronig - Forster - Lingg. In the next few years, the last generation will take the company over

A little bit of history

In 1916, Mister Theodor Lauber bought the "Sonne" pension after a bankruptcy. He runned it successfully for several years until the age of 63 before selling it to Mr. Ulrich Imboden, from St. Niklaus (VS), as nobody wanted to take it over in his own family.

Mr Imboden was one of the biggest businessmen in the canton (state) of Valais at that time and was also a renowned politician (member of the state Grand Council). He sold the property to Mr. Stanislaus Kronig in 1948 in order to pursue other projects.

First steps for the Kronig family

Zermatt native and long time single, Mr.Stanislaus Kronig firmly believed that money should always be invested in real estate. That's the reason why he bought two years later (1950) the adjacent property from the Zermatter “bourgeoisie” for the sum of CHF 1'200.00. This deal also included the rights to use the Triftbach gorge, located next to the building.

After his death, the legacy was passed on to his close family: his sister Victoria and her brother Wilhelm, who had four daughters: Martha, Pia, Monika and Maria. Maria, married with Mr. Alban Lingg, received the modest pension "Sonne" in heritage.

Shortly before these events, Mr. and Mrs. Lingg had begun the construction of the luxurious "Albana" hotel, located in the Schluhmattstrasse. They saw in the pension "Sonne" an interesting complement for their business and renovated the property adding dormitories. This was the ideal solution for groups and for people with fewer resources. On the following picture, you can see the main building and the annex (both built in 1860) and further a third renovated building. You can notice that the chalets built on the hill above the hotel are still there nowadays.

The Forster-Lingg family

Following those renovations, Ms. Käthy Lingg, the daughter of Alban Lingg and Maria Kronig, took over the management of the hotel "Sonne". Ensuring the commercial part at the beginning, she became the Executive Director following the death of his father in 1974. She married Mr. Leo Forster a year later. Together, they invested substantial sums of money in the company to reach, a few decades later, the 4 star superior category.

The last transition comes in 2012 with the arrival of their two son, Alexander (born in1983) and Fabian (1985) as the fourth generation of the family to take control of the hotel.

D'une pension à un hôtel 4 étoiles supérieur

L’hôtel Sonne de Zermatt est dirigé depuis plus de 3 générations par la famille Kronig - Forster - Lingg. Dans les prochaines années, la nouvelle génération sera appelée à prendre les rennes de l’entreprise

Un peu d’histoire

En 1916, le dénommé Theodor Lauber acheta la pension « Sonne » à la suite d’une faillite. Il la géra avec succès pendant plusieurs années jusqu’à l’âge de 63 ans avant de la vendre, faute de repreneurs dans sa famille, à Monsieur Ulrich Imboden, originaire de St. Niklaus (VS)

M. Imboden était un des plus gros entrepreneurs du canton du Valais à son époque et a également eu des responsabilités politiques (notamment au Grand Conseil). Il vendit la propriété à Monsieur Stanislaus Kronig.en 1948 afin de se consacrer à d’autres projets.

Les premiers pas de la famille Kronig

Stanislaus Kronig, Zermattois pure souche et célibataire endurci, croyait dur comme fer que l’argent devait toujours être investi dans l’immobilier. C’est pour cela qu’il acheta deux ans plus tard (en 1950) à la bourgeoisie de Zermatt la propriété adjacente pour la somme de CHF 1'200.00. Celle-ci incluait également les droits d’utilisations de la gorge du Trift.

A son décès, l’héritage fut transmis à sa famille proche : à sa sœur Victoria et à son frère Willhelm qui avait quatre filles : Martha, Pia, Monika et Maria. Cette dernière, mariée à Alban Lingg, reçut donc, entre autres, la modeste pension « Sonne ».

Peu avant ces événements, M. et Mme Lingg avaient entrepris la construction du luxueux hôtel « Albana », situé à la Schluhmattstrasse, si bien qu’ils virent en la pension « Sonne » un complément intéressant car de nature plus simple. Il fût décidé de rénover l’établissement et d’y ajouter des dortoirs, idéaux pour les groupes et pour les gens disposant de moins de moyens financiers. Sur la photo ci-contre, on peut apercevoir le bâtiment principal et l’annexe (tous deux construits en 1860) et un troisième bâtiment rénové.

Arrivée de la famille Forster-Lingg

Suite aux rénovations, Madame Käthy Lingg, fille d’Alban Lingg et de Maria Kronig, reprit la direction de l'hôtel « Sonne ». Assurant la partie commerciale dans un premier temps, elle devint la directrice générale à la suite du décès de son père en 1974. Elle épousa Monsieur Léo Forster une année plus tard. Ensemble, ils investirent de conséquentes sommes d’argent dans l’entreprise pour arriver, quelques décennies plus tard, à la catégorie « 4 étoiles Supérieur ».

La transition se fait en douceur à partir de 2012 et l’arrivée de leur deux fils, Alexander (né en 1983) et Fabian (1985) en tant que quatrième génération de la famille à prendre les commandes de l’hôtel.