From the pension to a 4* superior Hotel

The Hotel Sonne in Zermatt is headed for over three generations by the family Kronig - Forster - Lingg. In the next few years, the last generation will take the company over

A little bit of history

In 1916, Mister Theodor Lauber bought the "Sonne" pension after a bankruptcy. He runned it successfully for several years until the age of 63 before selling it to Mr. Ulrich Imboden, from St. Niklaus (VS), as nobody wanted to take it over in his own family.

Mr Imboden was one of the biggest businessmen in the canton (state) of Valais at that time and was also a renowned politician (member of the state Grand Council). He sold the property to Mr. Stanislaus Kronig in 1948 in order to pursue other projects.

First steps for the Kronig family

Zermatt native and long time single, Mr.Stanislaus Kronig firmly believed that money should always be invested in real estate. That's the reason why he bought two years later (1950) the adjacent property from the Zermatter “bourgeoisie” for the sum of CHF 1'200.00. This deal also included the rights to use the Triftbach gorge, located next to the building.

After his death, the legacy was passed on to his close family: his sister Victoria and her brother Wilhelm, who had four daughters: Martha, Pia, Monika and Maria. Maria, married with Mr. Alban Lingg, received the modest pension "Sonne" in heritage.

Shortly before these events, Mr. and Mrs. Lingg had begun the construction of the luxurious "Albana" hotel, located in the Schluhmattstrasse. They saw in the pension "Sonne" an interesting complement for their business and renovated the property adding dormitories. This was the ideal solution for groups and for people with fewer resources. On the following picture, you can see the main building and the annex (both built in 1860) and further a third renovated building. You can notice that the chalets built on the hill above the hotel are still there nowadays.

The Forster-Lingg family

Following those renovations, Ms. Käthy Lingg, the daughter of Alban Lingg and Maria Kronig, took over the management of the hotel "Sonne". Ensuring the commercial part at the beginning, she became the Executive Director following the death of his father in 1974. She married Mr. Leo Forster a year later. Together, they invested substantial sums of money in the company to reach, a few decades later, the 4 star superior category.

The last transition comes in 2012 with the arrival of their two son, Alexander (born in1983) and Fabian (1985) as the fourth generation of the family to take control of the hotel.

Von der Pension zum 4* superior Hotel

Seit nun mehr als 3 Generationen wird das Hotel Sonne in Zermatt erfolgreich von der Familie Kronig - Lingg - Forster geführt. In den nächsten Jahren zeichnet sich ein weiterer Generationswechsel ab.

 Im Jahre 1916 kaufte ein Zermatter, namens Theodor Lauber das ehemalige Pensionshaus aus einer Konkursmasse. Dieser leitete die Pension über mehrere Jahre erfolgreich. In seinem 63. Lebensjahr verkaufte er die Pension an Ulrich Imboden aus St. Niklaus. Dies tat er, weil seine Nachkommen kein Interesse an der Pension hatten.

Herr Imboden war einer der grössten Unternehmer des Wallis und war auch politisch tätig (Grossrat). Er verkaufte die Liegenschaft, da er langfristig andere und bedeutendere Interessen hatte. Aus diesem Grund spielte es für ihn auch keine Rolle, dass er die Liegenschaft mit einem Verlust von rund 15‘000 CHF an Herrn Stanislaus Kronig im Jahre 1948 verkaufte.

Herr Kronig war ein lediger alteingesessener Zermatter. Er glaubte immer daran, dass das Geld am Besten in Immobilien investiert ist. Das Hotel wurde aber nicht von Ihm selber geführt, sondern von einem Direktor. Zwei Jahre später kaufte Herr Kronig der Burgergemeinde Zermatt die angrenzende Liegenschaft inklusive der Rechte für die Nutzung der Triftbachschlucht ab (1950). Dies zu einem Preis von 1’200 CHF.

Da Stanislaus Kronig ledig war und keine Kinder hatte, erfolgte nach seinem Tod die Erbteilung all seiner Vermögenswerte an die nächsten Verwandten. Seine Erben waren die Nachkommen seiner Schwester Viktoria und seines Bruders Wilhelm (geb. 1886). Willhelm hatte 4 Töchter. Nämlich:

Martha, Pia, Monika und Maria. Maria Kronig, verheiratet mit Alban Lingg, erhielt bei dieser Erbteilung nebst anderen Werten die sehr einfache Pension Sonne. Nicht sehr lange vorher hatte sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann das Hotel Albana gebaut. Sie sahen diesen Betrieb als recht luxuriös an. Sie beschlossen deshalb, als Ergänzung zu diesem Betrieb, die Pension Sonne zwar umzubauen; aber dann als Hotel einfacher Klasse und mit Massenlager zu betreiben. Dieses einfache Hotel bestand in der Folge aus dem neu erstellten Haupttrakt, der umgebauten Dependance und einem zusätzlichen umgebauten Wohnhaus. Die Dependance und das Wohnhaus wiesen als Baujahr 1860 aus.

 

Nach der Wiedereröffnung übernahm die Tochter Käthy Lingg sukzessive die Leitung des Hotels Sonne; indem sie zuerst kaufmännische Arbeiten ausführte und spätestens nach dem Tod ihres Vaters (Alban) im Jahre 1974 erhielt sie die gesamte Verantwortung. Im Jahre 1975 heiratete sie Forster Leo und später konnte sie den Betrieb von ihrer Mutter mieten. Ab Mietbeginn hat sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann regelmässig in diesen Betrieb investiert und beide führen seit diesem Zeitpunkt den Familienbetrieb erfolgreich.